FSD Home LAUSD.net Board of Education Bond Oversight Site Map Login | Register
FSD Home | LAUSD.net

Facilities Branches | Design

Architectural & Engineering Services

Overview

The Architectural & Engineering Services (A/E Service) Section provides professional design and technical support services including scoping, evaluations, technical review, DSA submittal process, and construct ability review for both new construction and existing facilities projects. During construction, A/E Services provides construction phase services to ensure expedited processing of RFCs, field discrepancies, and other documentation. Below lists the most common area of expertise of each architectural and engineering discipline:

Architectural

  • Shade structures
  • ADA related projects with parking, gates, path of travel, restroom, and ramps
  • Administration office modernization
  • Bleachers replacement
  • Portable building installation and certification
  • Emergency repair services, such as fire damage projects

Civil

  • Playground resurfacing
  • Grading and drainage plans
  • Land surveying services - Topography, boundary, ALTA, underground utilities, and geophysical
  • Legal descriptions
  • Construction staking
  • Play matting and play structures
  • Storm Water Management
  • Landscape architectural designs

Electrical

  • Electrical power distribution
  • Outdoor and indoor lighting
  • Emergency systems
  • Fire alarm systems
  • Signal systems such as public address, and intrusion detection
  • TV distribution and computer networking systems

Mechanical

  • HVAC
  • Plumbing
  • Fire protection design

Structural

  • Geotechnical reports
  • Material testing and inspection
  • Structural evaluations and repair recommendations
  • Seismic retrofits

Quick Links

Design Forms

Reference Documents

Soils Reports

Design Standard Information


Contact Information

Christos Chrysiliou, Director
Phone: (213) 241-0813
Email: christos.chrysiliou@lausd.net

Talal Balaa, Deputy Director
Phone: (213) 241-0813
Email: talal.balaa@lausd.net

Herrick Au, Supervising Architect
Phone: (213) 241-3952
Email: herrick.au@lausd.net

Peyman Soroosh, Supervising Structural Engineer
Phone: (213) 241-0317
Email: peyman.soroosh@lausd.net

Joel Mendoza, Supervising Electrical Engineer
Phone: (213) 241-0490
Email: joel.mendoza@lausd.net

Tara Liampetchakul, Civil Engineer
Phone: (213) 241-0372
Email: tara.liampetchakul@lausd.net

Ronald Ong, Mechanical Engineer
Phone: (213) 241-8747
Email: ronald.ong@lausd.net

Ruben Valenzuela, Landscape Architect
Phone: (213) 241-7705
Email: ruben.valenzuela@lausd.net

 
Facilities Services Division • 333 South Beaudry Ave. • Los Angeles, CA 90017
Website Accessibility | Nondiscrimination